Tuesday, 29 March 2016

Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2016: Schedule, Team Squad, and Venue Details

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the ipl twice. They won ipl twice in IPL 2012 and 2014. They failed to qualify for the play offs in IPL 2015 though. They finished the tournament on the 5th spot. IPL 2016 starts on April 9, 2016. Mumbai Indians and Pune Supergiants set the ball rolling.

KKR will play their first match against Delhi daredevils on April 10, 2016, in Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Kolkata will definitely be looking to start the tournament with a win. Not to forget, Kolkata Knight Riders currently hold the record for the longest winning streak in IPL with a massive tally of fourteen wins.

Also Read:- Sunrisers Hyderabad's IPL 2016: Schedule, squad and venue details

Kolkata will play all their home games in Eden Gardens. Regarding the stadium, it is the largest stadium in the country and is the second largest stadium in the world. With a capacity of 66,000, the atmosphere here will be surreal.

Kolkata Knight Rider’s IPL 2016 schedule

April 10, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
April 13, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
April 16, 2016
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
April 19, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
April 24, 2016
Pune Supergiants vs Kolkata Knight Riders
MCA International Stadium, Pune
April 28, 2016
Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
April 30, 2016
Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
May 2, 2016
Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
May 4, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
May 8, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Gujarat Lions
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
May 14, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Pune Supergiants
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
May 16, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
May 19, 2016
Gujarat Lions vs Kolkata Knight Riders
May 22, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Kolkata Knight Riders have retained most of their players for IPL 2016. In the auction that was held on February 6, 2016, Knight Riders opted for a cautious approach. They made a few smart buys such as Colin Munro of New Zealand and John Hastings of Australia.

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad for IPL 2016
Gautam Gambhir (Captain)
Chris Lynn*
Manish Pandey
Colin Munro*
Suryakumar Yadav
Yusuf Pathan
John Hastings*
Andre Russell*
Kuldeep Yadav
Jason Holder*
Shakib Al Hasan*
Manan Sharma
Brad Hogg*
Rajagopal Sathish
Robin Uthappa
Wicketkeeper Batsman
Sheldon Jackson
Wicketkeeper Batsman
Piyush Chawla
Bowling All-rounder
Morne Morkel*
Sunil Narine*
Ankit Rajpoot
Umesh Yadav
Jaydev Unadkat

Gautam Gambhir will be leading the side for IPL 2016.

Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa will probably open the innings for the Knight Riders. Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, and Robin Uthappa are players who can change matches within moments.

Also Read:- IPL 2016 Gujarat Lions Team, Schedule and Venue Details

Kolkata Knight Riders have a strong middle order in the form of Yusuf Pathan, Andre Russel, John Hastings, and Shakib Al Hasan. These players are not flexible, but also give the middle order a lot of stability. If any one of them get going, an easy 170 is on the cards.

We will even have to watch out the new buy, Colin Munro. With so many quality overseas players in their squad, selecting Kolkata’s starting eleven will not be easy. We will have to wait and see as to how they will approach IPL 2016.

Kolkata Knight Riders enter IPL 2016 with a very strong team. They will definitely be looking to get the cup for a sensational third time.      


Post a Comment