Tuesday, 29 March 2016

Kings XI Punjab IPL 2016: Schedule, Team Squad, and Venue Details

IPL 2016 will kick off right from April 9, 2016. The defending champions Mumbai Indians will play their first match against Pune Supergiants. However, Kings XI Punjab’s campaign will start a little later on April 11, 2016. They will play against a new team – Gujarat Lions. This should be an interesting match for we will see Gujarat Lions in action for the first time (a lot of unknowns here).

Kings XI Punjab finished 2nd in IPL 2014. However that was not the case in IPL 2015. It was a complete turnaround. Kings XI Punjab finished last season last. They would be hoping to do a lot better this time around.

Also Read:- Sunrisers Hyderabad's IPL 2016: Schedule, squad and venue details

Punjab usually play their home games at The Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali. With a capacity of 40,000, expect some noise here. They will finish the final part of the season at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur as their home ground.

Kings XI Punjab IPL 2016 Schedule

April 11, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Gujarat Lions
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
April 15, 2016
Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
April 17, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Pune Supergiants
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
April 19, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
April 23, 2016
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
April 25, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
May 1, 2016
Gujarat Lions vs Kings XI Punjab
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
May 4, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
May 7, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
May 9, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
May 13, 2016
Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
May 15, 2016
Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
May 18, 2016
Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
May 21, 2016
Pune Supergiants vs Kings XI Punjab
MCA International Stadium, Pune

Punjab have a good squad this season. We had the IPL auction on February 6, 201 where the North Indian team made a few changes to their team this year.
Kings XI Punjab Squad for IPL 2016
David Miller* (Captain)
Shaun Marsh*
Murali Vijay
Manan Vohra
Armaan Jaffer
Gurkeerat Mann Singh
Glenn Maxwell*
Kyle Abbott*
Farhaan Behardien*
Rishi Dhawan
Marcus Stoinis*
Axar Patel
Wriddhiman Saha
Wicketkeeper Batsman
Nikhil Naik
Wicketkeeper Batsman
Mitchell Johnson*
Bowling All-rounder
Mohit Sharma
Pardeep Sahu
Anureet Singh
KC Cariappa
Shardul Thakur
Sandeep Sharma
Swapnil Singh

Kings XI Punjab have many hard hitters in their team. These players can even turn a loss into a win.

David Miller will captain the side this time. Middle order stability will be key for a successful campaign. Manan Vohra and Murali Vijay will likely open the innings for Punjab. Meanwhile,  Mitchell Johnson along with Mohit Sharma will have to pick up wickets upfront in IPL 2016.

If they plan to lift the cup this time round, Maxwell will have to find his 2014 form once again. He can be the most destructive batsman and will be crucial during run chases for Punjab this season.

Coming to young talent, keep a close eye on seventeen-year-old Armaan Jaffer.

If Kings XI Punjab can replicate the 2014 form, they may go one better and lift the cup in IPL 2016. 


Post a Comment