Wednesday, 9 December 2015

Pune and Rajkot awarded IPL teams for 2016 season in auction

On this Tuesday, The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) awarded the two new Indian Premier League (IPL) teams to Intex and New Rising.

"People want to associate with cricket and IPL for reasons beyond money and economics," IPL commissioner Rajeev Shukla told ESNPCricinfo.

Goenka is also the co-owner of Indian Super League's Kolkata franchise.

New Rising have agreed to pay around $3.4 million (Dh12.5m) annually for the Pune franchise and Intex will pay around $1.5 million for the Rajkot team.

The auction followed the decision by India’s cricket board to ban the Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals from the glitzy tournament on the recommendation of a Supreme Court-appointed panel.

The 2013 IPL season was mired in controversy after police launched legal proceedings against several officials from the two teams and three Rajasthan Royals players for illegal betting and spot-fixing.

The Super Kings, led by India’s World Cup-winning captain MS Dhoni, are the most successful team in the IPL’s history, having won the tournament in 2010 and 2011 and finishing runners-up on four occasions.

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural event in 2008 under the captaincy of Australian spin legend Shane Warne, but have failed to make the final since then.

Both Chennai and Rajasthan are expected to return to the IPL after their bans end in 2018.

The new buyers, which will ensure the IPL remains an eight-team event for at least the next two years, will be presented at a media conference later on Tuesday.

Players from CSK and RR will be divided into two groups of capped and uncapped and the top names will be sold through the draft system. The two new teams will have a minimum of Rs 40 crore and a maximum of Rs 66 crore to buy their players.


Post a Comment